How Biggie Smalls Saved Me.

3/9/2013

On this day, 16 years ago, the Notorious B.I.G. was shot and killed.

Now, I don’t necessarily remember where i was when i first heard the news, but i DO know it had a profound impact on my life.

You see, up until that point, I was a young high schooler fully immersed in the east coast/west coast thug lifestyle. How so, you ask? Observe:

On some nights (not school nights of course) i would stay out til 7 or 8pm, waaaaay past my curfew. I tried to cut class once, but the librarian caught me and made me put down “The Hobbit” and dragged me off to my 5th period sex ed class. I’d go to school all decked out in my LA Gear Regulator shoes and Starter Chicago Bulls XL parka until some fresmen punked me for them.  Whenever cops rolled by me, I wouldnt even wait a whole block before i muttered “eff the police” under my breath.  You remember that candy that looked like cigarettes? I used to hang out in front of the liquor store and act like i was smoking them until my fingers got sticky. Then i wouldnt even eat the candy, just straight up throw it on the ground.

Shoot, i used to set up a stand in front of my house with a sign that said “Fresh Squeezed Lemonade $.50 a Cup” and then serve people kool-aid. That sh** is $.19 a packet, suckas! If that aint a hustle, i dont know what is!

But then Biggie got shot, and i realized i had to straighten up my act.

RIP Biggie Smalls, your death was not in vain…..

About BakoRamblinDad

I'm a happily married father of 2 beautiful children, ages 4 and 6. My posts are about whatever enters my shockingly simple brain. From parenthood to Tupac, I just never know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

